Healthful Mind Body and Soul

Be Whole Body Healthly!

Long Run Saturday!

2 Comments

Ready set go! On my way out for a long run. I so look forward to my long run Saturdays, it’s my time to let go, think and mentally prepare for the new week ahead.

Image

After my runs I blend a power packed green smoothie. Today I used curly kale, lacinato kale also know as dinosaur kale, and spinach as my greens, two cups of almond-plus milk, two bananas, chia seeds and ground flax seeds , Raw Protein Powder and Advocare Spark Powder.

Spinach,Curly Kale and Lacinato Kale

Kale has protein and fiber and is high in beta carotene, vitamin k, c, lutein, zeaxanthin and calcium. Kale like broccoli contains sulforaphane, especially when chopped or minced. Sulforaphane is a chemical with strong anti-cancer properties. Spinach is a good source of niacin,zinc and has some protein and is mildly anti-inflammatory.

So Delicious Almond Plus Milk

I use So Delicious Dairy Free Almond Plus milk,it has 5 grams of protein in each 8 ounces.

Chia Seeds

Chia seeds is a power packed seed. Chia seeds are the richest plant source of Omega-3 which is a vital fat that protects against inflammation. Chia seeds contains more Omega-3 than salmon and 1 ounce of chia seeds contain 4 grams of protein and chia is also a rich source of calcium. Flax seed is the other tiny seed with a powerful punch.

WholeFlax Seed, grind just before using is best.

Flax seeds also high in Omega-3 fatty acids,high in fiber and very low in carbohydrates. Flax seeds are also high in most b-vitamins,magnesium and manganese. Also high in phytochemicals, this may be our best source of lignans, which converts in our intestines to substances that help to balance female hormones. There is some evidence that lignans may promote fertility, reduce peri-menopausal symptoms, possibly help prevent breast cancer and it may also help prevent Type-2 diabetes.

Raw Protein Powder

Bananas

Bananas have B6 a good source of fiber, vitamin c, potassium and manganese.

I blend all of the ingredients in my high-speed blender and a few minutes later I have myself an awesome after workout smoothie.

Delicious power packed green smoothie!

Thick and creamy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Celeste @The Whole Serving

Hi, I'm Celeste 'm a no flesh eating vegetarian who loves to run, cook and eat good wholesome food, living a healthy lifestyle has always been important to me. In 2011 I became a vegetarian because I was experiencing digestive problems it seemed after every meal and I just didn't feel good. After reading Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr I was convinced that eliminating all meat from my diet and adding more real foods was worth a try. Kris's book taught me so much about the power of whole fresh fruits and veggies, and their impact on our bodies. After a few months I started to feel the difference and I have never turned back. My hope is to share something that helps you on your journey to being Whole Body Healthy! Follow me on Facebook,Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

2 thoughts on “Long Run Saturday!

  1. Thanks for the green smoothie recipe! Hubby and I gave it a try and it is surprisingly tasty! We are adding it as a staple to our diet.

Leave a Reply

