Healthful Mind Body and Soul

Be Whole Body Healthly!

The Power of Matcha

2 Comments

I first heard of Matcha while reading Ani’s Raw Food Essentials  cookbook by Ani Phyo.

Matcha is a Japanese green tea, and EGCG’s are antioxidants found in green tea.  The difference between Matcha and other green teas is that in matcha the stems are removed and the whole leaf is ground into a powder.  This makes it ten times more potent, with 137 times more antioxidants than regular brewed tea.  When you drink one cup of Matcha you are getting all the health benefits the tea leaves offer.

Matcha has caffeine, but one cup has half the caffeine of one cup of coffee. There is a difference in the caffeine found in coffee and the caffeine found in green teas.  Green tea has tannins, and the tannins slows down the absorption of caffeine into the blood causing a more long-term energy rise without jitteriness or a crash afterwards.

It  is also a good source of L-theanine, which is known to have a anti-stress effect.  With the combined effects of caffeine, tannins and L-theanine,

Matcha  surpass all other teas.  It helps with alertness and mental focus, reduces stress and relaxes without causing drowsiness.

Other benefits are that it boost metabolism, helps to control body weight, detoxifies blood, helps control free-radical damage to cells, prevents heart disease, cancer, and reduces cholesterol and increases circulation.

Because the whole leaf is used, the taste is stronger.  I don’t drink it as a tea, but I use it in my smoothies and shakes.

Matcha Smoothie

8 to 12 oz. of non-dairy milk

1 tablespoon of matcha

1 tablespoon agave nectar

1 frozen banana

1/2 cup frozen pineapple

Combine all ingredients in your blender and blend until smooth. Enjoy!

Of course you can throw in any other ingredients you like to make it your own. If you want you can change the non-dairy milk to water, I like the milk because if gives it a creamy texture.

You can find Matcha powder in most health food stores. I purchase mine form Whole Foods and of course you can find it online.

Click here to learn more about matcha.

Author: Celeste @The Whole Serving

Hi, I'm Celeste 'm a no flesh eating vegetarian who loves to run, cook and eat good wholesome food, living a healthy lifestyle has always been important to me. In 2011 I became a vegetarian because I was experiencing digestive problems it seemed after every meal and I just didn't feel good. After reading Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr I was convinced that eliminating all meat from my diet and adding more real foods was worth a try. Kris's book taught me so much about the power of whole fresh fruits and veggies, and their impact on our bodies. After a few months I started to feel the difference and I have never turned back. My hope is to share something that helps you on your journey to being Whole Body Healthy! Follow me on Facebook,Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

2 thoughts on “The Power of Matcha

  1. Pingback: Matcha Power | Healthful Mind Body and Soul

  2. Pingback: Matcha Chia Pudding

Leave a Reply

