Healthful Mind Body and Soul

Be Whole Body Healthly!

MIMM #2 and Headache Free

4 Comments

MiMM

Welcome to another Monday!  I hope you all had fun this weekend, Saturday I lounged a bit and I started to pull clothes from my closet to donate, but I became so overwhelmed I decided to go for my long run.

GoingforRun

  I had planned to do a loop, run out 4 miles turn around and come back to make 8, but as I was approaching the 2 mile mark I was starting to feel tired, weak and my head was beginning to hurt.  It ended up being a 4 mile run instead.  I prepared a fruit bowl of non-fat greek yogurt and blackberries when I got home and after a shower I had a great big salad, and my energy level was coming back, but I still had a huge headache.  I was determined not to take any meds for my headache, because earlier in the week I took them and ended up with a killer stomach ache.  Finally after drinking lots of water and eating a sunflower seed butter and banana sandwich, my headache went away. THAT WAS MARVELOUS.  When I was training with Tean-In-Training the coaches used to always say “stick to what works for your long runs “, but Saturday I had Eggo pancakes instead of my old trusty oatmeal.  I know every run won’t be a good run, but I think I have learned my lesson to fuel my body adequately before my runs.

Sunday was a much better day, every third Sunday my daughter and I volunteer in our church nursery caring for infants  and toddlers.  After returning home, and doing an interval workout, I  made coffee smoothie with leftover coffee, chocolate flavored protein powder, frozen banana and chia seeds.

CoffeeSmoothie2

Marvelous was my Sunday lunch of roasted potatoes topped with salsa, cheese and greens, SOOOOO tasty.

Sunday Lunch

Marvelous was Sunday dinner my daughter begged me to make because she loves the cute little noodles.

Pasta Bowl

Be MARVELOUS in your Monday!

A big thank you to Katie @Healthy Diva Life for hosting MIMM.

Question of the Day.

For all the athletes, what do you use to fuel your body before and after workouts?

Author: Celeste @The Whole Serving

Hi, I'm Celeste 'm a no flesh eating vegetarian who loves to run, cook and eat good wholesome food, living a healthy lifestyle has always been important to me. In 2011 I became a vegetarian because I was experiencing digestive problems it seemed after every meal and I just didn't feel good. After reading Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr I was convinced that eliminating all meat from my diet and adding more real foods was worth a try. Kris's book taught me so much about the power of whole fresh fruits and veggies, and their impact on our bodies. After a few months I started to feel the difference and I have never turned back. My hope is to share something that helps you on your journey to being Whole Body Healthy! Follow me on Facebook,Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

4 thoughts on “MIMM #2 and Headache Free

  1. Glad you had a great weekend and some good workouts too! I love sunflower seed butter, the best! I had some toped on my smoothie this morning!

    Happy Monday girl!

  2. ok i have some running questions for you! 🙂 ..and thanks for all the kale info 🙂 ..so i’ve been trying to get into running – i’m realllly physically active so i don’t understand why i’m struggling so much with running! my legs don’t get tired – i just kind of run out of the will to keep going :/ i can push through other workouts no problem, i don’t know why running is such an issue! any suggestions? also: any suggestions on the best shorts to buy? i usually run in workout capris, but i want to get some shorts (that won’t ride up!) ..i’m also looking at garmins (the forerunner10) – is there a better way to keep track of distance/pace or are garmins the best way to go?

    • You may want to start with run/walk intervals, 5 minutes runing to 1 minute walking. Sometings when I am having trouble I find a point ahead,fix my eye on it and tell myself not to stop until I reach it. When I reach it it fix my eye on a new point ahead. It’s a game I play with myself. A running buddy might help and of course make sure you have fueled your body before, during and after each run.Stay hydrated, stay hydrated, stay hydrated, I learned my lesson the hard way. As for running shorts I have two kind that I like, Nike Tempo shorts or their Tech 8 shorts, the later is fitted to the thigh so no riding up. For tracking your runs I think the Garmin is one of the best, good choice. Good luck and let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

