Healthful Mind Body and Soul

Be Whole Body Healthly!

MIMM and Making Milk

1 Comment

MiMM

It’s another Marvelous Monday!  I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend. I spent most of mine in the company of a tech guy trying to fix my wi-fi Saturday and on the phone with a tech guy Sunday because the problem wasn’t fixed, like we thought.  So another appointment is scheduled for next weekend, because of a little thing called work week.  Third times a charm I’ve heard, because this will be the third time I have a tech come to fix the same problem. Technology, you got love it.  In spite of all my wi-fi wows I still had a Marvelous weekend. I had time to make fresh almond milk, and Almond Nut Bars from the leftover pulp.  What better way to spend the waiting time.

Almonds

When making your own nut milk you can use any nut or seed of your choice, you can even use oats or quinoa. When I make nut milks I use raw nuts and seed, they have a higher nutritional value. Since they are raw they need to be soaked to break down the enzyme inhibitors, this starts the germinating of the nut or seed and also make it easier to digest.  I soaked my almonds overnight.  Here is what you will need.

Raw Almond Milk

1 cups raw almonds

3 cups filtered water

                                   2 to 4 pitted Medjool dates (optional, used as a sweetener)

pinch of sea salt

1/2 teaspoon vanilla (optional)

1.Place the almonds in a bowl , cover with filtered water, soak overnight or if you don’t have the time you can soak 2 to 3 hours before use.

2. Rinse and drain, place almonds back in bowl and pour boiling water to cover almonds, allow to soak for a minute or two. I do this to kill any bacteria that may be on the surface of the nut, but not cooking the nut.

3. Place almonds in the blender along with the dates and filtered water. The standard is a 3 to 1 ratio for making nut milks. (3 cups of water to 1 cup of nuts.)  I used slightly less water because I wanted a creamier milk.

4. Blend on the highest speed until smooth.

5. Place the nut milk bag in a large bowl, pour milk into bag and squeeze to release the milk.

6. When you have squeezed all you can, remove pulp and rinse bag. The pulp can be used later in other recipes or dried and processed into flour.

7. Pour milk thru milk bag once more. This step is optional, I do this because it make a smoother milk.

8. Add the salt and vanilla, stir and pour milk into a glass jar for storage up to a week in the fridge. Mixture will separate so shake well before each use.

What’s really Marvelous is this milk over Kashi Autumn Wheat cereal. Yum Yum!

Steps

FinishedMilk

I made these with the leftover pulp.

AlmondNutBars

To the leftover pulp I added

1 cup pitted Madjool dates

1 cup dried cranberries

1 and a half cup dried coconut flakes

1 cup sliced almonds

1/2 cup chia seeds

Process everything in a food processor. If the mixture is too dry you can add water to help it come together. You want it slightly crumbly, but stays together when pressed together. Shape into pan cut and enjoy!

Don’t forget to make your Monday Marvelous and check out the other Marvelousiness at Healthy Diva Life.

Thank you Katie for the weekly party.

Author: Celeste @The Whole Serving

Hi, I'm Celeste 'm a no flesh eating vegetarian who loves to run, cook and eat good wholesome food, living a healthy lifestyle has always been important to me. In 2011 I became a vegetarian because I was experiencing digestive problems it seemed after every meal and I just didn't feel good. After reading Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr I was convinced that eliminating all meat from my diet and adding more real foods was worth a try. Kris's book taught me so much about the power of whole fresh fruits and veggies, and their impact on our bodies. After a few months I started to feel the difference and I have never turned back. My hope is to share something that helps you on your journey to being Whole Body Healthy! Follow me on Facebook,Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

One thought on “MIMM and Making Milk

  1. Never made my own almond milk, but everyone says how easy it is! Awesome that you did! Those bars look amazing too!

    Happy week to you!

Leave a Reply

