Healthful Mind Body and Soul

Be Whole Body Healthly!

WIAW# 20

6 Comments

wiaw serve up an extra cup button

Can you believe it’s another WIAW? Just 1 and 1/2 months to being half way thru another year. Today my eats are from Tuesday, and WOW what a Tuesday it was, somebody pushed the fast forward button and forgot to push play.  Lately my days have been 10 to 12 hours long and that makes my nights seem  short. Monday it felt shorter after being up late reading and watching the sad news about the Boston Marathon. I was unaware of what had happened because in my work once I’m inside it’s a child’s world, (I work with children). I was told the news by a parent who came to pick-up her child, she said when she heard the news she thought of me because she knows I run marathons. My heart and prayers go out to all affected by this terrible tragedy.

 It was full speed and straight ahead from the moment my feet hit the floor Tuesday, I was a little rushed so I threw some food in my lunch tote and headed out the door to work. It all turned out fabulous! I think the key to eating healthy is having healthy food choices available. I keep a bowl of fruit on my desk, and I have a small fridge in my office to keep water and other healthy snacks on hand. So when I’m rushed and haven’t planned as well, I still have healthy eats available.

After getting settled at work my breakfast was whole wheat toast with sunflower butter, sliced bananas, chia seeds and a cup of coffee. I keep a supply of chia seeds in my office fridge.I like adding them in cereal and on salads.

Breakfast

Lunch was a thrown together kale salad. I pulled the kale from the stems, sliced cherry tomatoes, red onions, smashed avocado into salad and sprinkles on some nutritional yeast, another item in my office fridge and I threw in some dried cranberries just because.  This salad was better than good. You got to try it!

ThrownTogetherSalad

I wasn’t very hungry so dinner was zucchini, daikon, carrot salad with citrus ginger dressing I prepared by mixing the juice from one navel orange and about 1 tablespoon of Whole Foods organic soy ginger sauce. I used my handy dandy spiralizer to chop the daikon and zucchini.

DinnerSalad

Enjoy your Wednesday and don’t forget to check out the other eats at Peas ans Crayons. Thanks to Jenn for hosting this weekly get-together.

Questions of the Day.

Dose it seem to you this year has flown by?

How do you eat healthy with your busy lifestyle?

Author: Celeste @The Whole Serving

Hi, I'm Celeste 'm a no flesh eating vegetarian who loves to run, cook and eat good wholesome food, living a healthy lifestyle has always been important to me. In 2011 I became a vegetarian because I was experiencing digestive problems it seemed after every meal and I just didn't feel good. After reading Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr I was convinced that eliminating all meat from my diet and adding more real foods was worth a try. Kris's book taught me so much about the power of whole fresh fruits and veggies, and their impact on our bodies. After a few months I started to feel the difference and I have never turned back. My hope is to share something that helps you on your journey to being Whole Body Healthy! Follow me on Facebook,Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

6 thoughts on “WIAW# 20

  1. Your lunch salad looks and sounds incredible! I have to say, I cannot believe how quickly this year seems to be going. I mean really, it’s already mid April. Where has the year gone?!!

  2. That kale salad sounds heavenly!

  3. What a gorgeous salad! Love all the vibrant colors 🙂

  4. What is nutritional yeast? I’ve only heard of yeast for bread.

    • It is grown on molasses, harvested, washed and dried with heat to deactivate it. It’s not like bakers yeast, it’s flakely and a good source of B vitamins and an array of other nutrients. For vegans and vegetarians like myself who do not eat any meat it’s a great way to add B vitamins to the diet. It has a nutty, cheesey flavor and is great on popcorn, pasta, soups, sauces just about anything. You can find in most health food stores. I purchase from Whole Foods in bulk section and store in air-tight container in my fridge. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

