Healthful Mind Body and Soul

Be Whole Body Healthly!

WIAW #22 and Planning Ahead

8 Comments

WIAWbutton

Happy WIAW! So far my week has been grand!  The wonderful weather we have been having here in North Texas is drawing me to the outdoors and I have gotten in some good runs.  Although my days are busy, I have made a commitment to fit runs or cross training workouts into my schedule before or after work.  Sometimes you just have to make the commitment to yourself, for yourself.

Funny how I skip workouts because I’m busy, and feel tired, but when I workout I have more energy for those busy days and my tired changes from a run-down tired to a feel good tired. Dose anybody know what I’m talking about?

The past few weeks I have been taking the time on the weekends to sit and plan my meals for the week, making quick and easy meals and preparing enough to take for lunch during the week. I also multi task some of my ingredients, I prepared enough quinoa to use in several dishes during the week.

Monday started with silken tofu and cherry smoothie sprinkled with vanilla granola, coffee and pure aloe vera with carrot juice, aloe vera is good for the digestive and immune system, joint function and circulation and it supports the overall healing process. I drink 2 to 4 ounces twice daily. You can drink it alone, but I choose to drink it with just a little carrot orange juice.  For those of you who don’t have a juicer or don’t always have the time to juice and clean the juice machine, (I hate cleaning the juicing machine), I have found an amazing omega-3 carrot orange juice at TJ’s. My daughter loves this stuff, and she is a picky eater.

Breakfast4-29

Aloejuice

Lunch was leftover pasta salad on top a bed of fresh romaine lettuce. The pasta salad I made over the weekend was prepared with mini heirloom tomatoes, red, orange, yellow and jalapeno peppers, black olives, grated vegan cheese and vegan mayo and I finished off with a sprinkle of TJ’s 21 Seasoning Salute.

Pasta salad4-29

 Snack was Lotus Biscoff Spread with sliced apples. I found it at Target and it is a good stand in for TJ’s Cookie Butter, which happens to be out of stock until mid May.

2BiscoffSpread

After work and a three-mile run I sliced and sautéed TJ’s Italian Sausage-less Sausage with sliced jalapeno and simmered them in creamy red pepper soup, served on top a bed of quinoa.  This meal took about 15 minutes to prepare because I prepared the quinoa Sunday to use throughout the week.

ItalianSausage4-29

Taking the time to plan my meals has paid off with more time to do the things I love. Like running and most of all spending time with my daughter, who will be leaving for college next year.  I’m trying to make the most of the time I have with her everyday, soon it will be phone calls, skype and occasional visits.

I challenge you to meal plan if you don’t already. It has saved me time and money.

Stop by Peas and Crayons for a peak at what others are eating. Thank you Jenn for being a great host each week.

Questions of the Day.

Do you plan your meals?

What would you like to have more time for in your life?

Author: Celeste @The Whole Serving

Hi, I'm Celeste 'm a no flesh eating vegetarian who loves to run, cook and eat good wholesome food, living a healthy lifestyle has always been important to me. In 2011 I became a vegetarian because I was experiencing digestive problems it seemed after every meal and I just didn't feel good. After reading Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr I was convinced that eliminating all meat from my diet and adding more real foods was worth a try. Kris's book taught me so much about the power of whole fresh fruits and veggies, and their impact on our bodies. After a few months I started to feel the difference and I have never turned back. My hope is to share something that helps you on your journey to being Whole Body Healthy! Follow me on Facebook,Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

8 thoughts on “WIAW #22 and Planning Ahead

  1. Definitely make the most of the time you have with your daughter! I miss mom and daughter time being away at college. Fortunately (or unfortunately however you want to see it…) I have to go home every weekend to make my food for the following week of school because of all of my food allergies. I love going home and catching up with my family.

    Your leftover pasta salad looks great. I love pasta both hot and cold! 🙂

  2. We love the Biscoff spread in my house!

  3. I love trader joes juices!! The green plant and purple carrot-beet are favorites. I think that the carrot omega actually has fish oils as an ingredient (in case that matters to you)
    I also LOVE their meatless balls if you havent tried those yet i even tricked an omni with them!

  4. I totally relate with what you said about wanting to put off workouts when you’re tired, etc. but then when you don’t work out you feel even MORE tired! I especially noticed that when I was working 8-5pm and used to work out at 530am – on mornings I thought I was treating myself by sleeping in, I ended up having much more sluggish days!

Leave a Reply

