Healthful Mind Body and Soul

Be Whole Body Healthly!

WIAW #26 and Hooping It

3 Comments

WIAWbutton

Happy What I Ate Wednesday! Tuesday’s eats were quick, easy and simple.

  • Breakfast – Spinach, banana and cherry smoothie.
  • AM Snack – Spicy hummus and crackers.
  • Lunch – Romaine, spinach and kale salad.
  • PM Snack – Coffee and greek yogurt.
  • Dinner – Tomato, vegan mozzarella and basil panini with salad.

Diptic

Monday I told you about the hula hoop competition at our weekend gathering. Well, my 10 year-old nephew has become obsessed with the hula hoop, he hoops while reading his homework, he’s that good and determined to get 6-pack abs. He’s in a trending group, hula hoop workouts are becoming more popular around the country. You can burn quite a few calories working out with hoops, however, the hoops used in workouts are weighted and rotate a bit slower around the body making it a little easier than a hoop you get from the toy store. I must admit it has been a long, long time since I have hooped and I am not good at it, I certianly can’t do it as long as these two.

BackyardFun

Hoopnotica is one of many companies that offer weighted hoops with DVD workouts and you can also search for certified instructor in your area. They were recently featured on Good Morning America.

I think I’ll start with the $5.00 toy store hoop before upgrading to the weighted hoop, the weighted hoops range from $32.99 to $149.99, have to learn how to use one again before investing that much.

Hooping is a great core workout and a good way to turn your workouts into fun playtime or make some extra money if you become a certified hoop instructor.

hoopnotica

Below is a hoop workout you can find on You Tube. Click to see workout.

hoop

Don’t forget to visit Jenn our WIAW host and all the others at Peas and Crayons.

Click here to enter the Eclipse Giveaway.

Question of the day.

Do you hula hoop?

What are some activites you do for workouts?

Author: Celeste @The Whole Serving

Hi, I'm Celeste 'm a no flesh eating vegetarian who loves to run, cook and eat good wholesome food, living a healthy lifestyle has always been important to me. In 2011 I became a vegetarian because I was experiencing digestive problems it seemed after every meal and I just didn't feel good. After reading Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr I was convinced that eliminating all meat from my diet and adding more real foods was worth a try. Kris's book taught me so much about the power of whole fresh fruits and veggies, and their impact on our bodies. After a few months I started to feel the difference and I have never turned back. My hope is to share something that helps you on your journey to being Whole Body Healthy! Follow me on Facebook,Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

3 thoughts on “WIAW #26 and Hooping It

  1. What kind of vegan mozzarella do you use? I’m looking for a good melty vegan cheese!

  2. Hulu hooping – so fun!! I don’t have a hulu hoop, but I used to 🙂

Leave a Reply

