Healthful Mind Body and Soul

Be Whole Body Healthly!

WIAW# 27 and Energy Snacks

Leave a comment

wiaw sensible snacking button

It’s Wednesday, another WIAW and Sensible Snacking Month!  I normally I start my day off with a smoothie, but Monday I decided to whip a batch of energy bites.  Lunch was leftover broccoli salad, and dinner was a quick put together meal of spaghetti and veggie meatballs with garlic bread. And of course lots of water throughout the day.

DipticBites

Monday I used a new ingredient in my energy bites, Ezekiel almond cereal.

Ezekiel Energy Bites

1 cup Ezekiel cereal

1/2 cup ground flax seed

1/2 cup dried cranberries

4 dates

2 tablespoons nut butter of your choice (I used sunflower seed butter)

1 1/2 tablespoons chia seeds

1/3 cup sliced almonds

1/2 cup coconut flakes

Place first four ingredients in food process and blend until mixture comes together.

Remove mixture to a mixing bowl, add in the nut butter, mix well.

Add the chia seeds, almonds, and coconut, mix  together until well combined.

If mixture is too moist add in more cereal, if too dry add just a few drops of water or more nut butter.

Shape into balls or bars, store in airtight container in the fridge.  And try not to eat them all yourself, all at once!

What I like about making energy bites or bars, is you can make so many variations.  Below top left are cacao chia seed bites, top right are squares I made using almond pulp as the base.  Bottom left are brownie squares made from raw chocolate and hemp seed and bottom right are oat bites rolled in coconut flakes.  They make great snacks for pre or post workout, and I like snacking on them in the late afternoon to give me a boost of energy naturally, without processed sugars.

Quad

Enjoy your Wednesday and check out more WIAW at Peas and Crayons.

3 more days left for giveaway.

Jewelry Givaway

EclipseEarrings

Question of the day.

What do you eat before or after a workout?

What is your favorite breakfast?

Author: Celeste @The Whole Serving

Hi, I'm Celeste 'm a no flesh eating vegetarian who loves to run, cook and eat good wholesome food, living a healthy lifestyle has always been important to me. In 2011 I became a vegetarian because I was experiencing digestive problems it seemed after every meal and I just didn't feel good. After reading Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr I was convinced that eliminating all meat from my diet and adding more real foods was worth a try. Kris's book taught me so much about the power of whole fresh fruits and veggies, and their impact on our bodies. After a few months I started to feel the difference and I have never turned back. My hope is to share something that helps you on your journey to being Whole Body Healthy! Follow me on Facebook,Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

