Healthful Mind Body and Soul

Be Whole Body Healthly!

Early Morning Walk, Not Run

9 Comments

MiMM

Marvelous, Marvelous, Marvelous…

I was out the door early Saturday morning for my run, but with every step my head was pounding, so I decided to walk my miles, it was so nice out, the early morning is my favorite time of the day for running or in this case walking, and I didn’t want to trun back. I focused on engaging my core, turned out to be a pretty good workout. I was glad I didn’t give up on my workout. When I returned home I did some yoga before having a protein smoothie.

Marvelous was I didn’t let a little headache get in the way of my workout.

I tried a new fruit this weekend, Lychees, I have heard of the fruit, but I’d never tried it. I found some at Trader Joe’s, so I got some to give a try.  After googling, I learned that you peel the outer red skin and eat the white flesh, discarding the seed in its center. I am not sure what I expected, but it wasn’t what I thought it would be, it was juicy and sweet and reminded me of a grape.

Lychee fruit has about 66 calories per 100 g., has no saturated fats or cholesterol, has a good amount of fiber, vitamins and antioxidants.  Lychees are high in oligonol, which is thought to have anti-oxidant and anti-fluenza virus actions. It also helps improve blood flow, reduce weight, is an excellent source of vitamin C, B-complex vitamins and minerals.

Source.

Marvelous was me trying a new food and liking it.

Lychee Fruit

Marvelous is my trying a new recipe I found on Pinterest for flat bread and it’s a Winner.  You can find the recipe HERE. Great site for foodies.

Flat Bread

My daughter made a tasty pizza.

Flatbread Pizza

I did some recipe testing this weekend using Xylitol as a sugar replacement in these brownie cup cakes, and I found out that my digestive system can not handle Xylitol.  It gave me a major upset stomach. It’s said to be a natural sweetener, but I think I’ll stick to using brown sugar, coconut sugar, agave or maple syrup as a white sugar replacement.

Marvelous that I discovered this on a weekend and not a work day.

Xylitol

The brownies look and taste great, I just can’t eat them. I’ll be testing again using a sweetener that I know I can handle.

Iced Brownie CupCakes

What is Xylitol?

It’s a naturally occurring sugar alcohol derived from corn that doesn’t promote tooth decay. It’s a low glycemic impact carbohydrate that is slow to be absorbed in the digestive tract, making its calorie impact 1/3 lower than other carbohydrates.

Be Marvelous in your Monday and check Katie and all the other MIMM’s over at Healthy Diva Eats.

MiMM

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Have you ever used Xylitol?  If so, do you like it?

How was your weekend? Marvelous I hope!

Author: Celeste @The Whole Serving

Hi, I'm Celeste 'm a no flesh eating vegetarian who loves to run, cook and eat good wholesome food, living a healthy lifestyle has always been important to me. In 2011 I became a vegetarian because I was experiencing digestive problems it seemed after every meal and I just didn't feel good. After reading Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr I was convinced that eliminating all meat from my diet and adding more real foods was worth a try. Kris's book taught me so much about the power of whole fresh fruits and veggies, and their impact on our bodies. After a few months I started to feel the difference and I have never turned back. My hope is to share something that helps you on your journey to being Whole Body Healthy! Follow me on Facebook,Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

9 thoughts on “Early Morning Walk, Not Run

  1. I’ve never tried Xylitol. The brownies look yummy!

  2. I’m a big xylitol fan! It can be tricky to bake with but I think I’m getting better at using it.

    I tried lychee last summer and loved it! It’s hard to find in Toronto though and Hawaii (where I tried it) isn’t exactly a hop skip and jump away 😉

  3. It’s so good that you listen to your body and walk when you need to 🙂 And that pizza looks yummmmy ♥

Leave a Reply

