Healthful Mind Body and Soul

Be Whole Body Healthly!

A Wonderful Labor Day Weekend

Leave a comment

Happy Labor Day!

If you have the day off, I hope you are having fun.

My weekend started off with a early morning run Saturday, and after my run I refueled with a Mean Green After Workout Smoothie.  Loaded with kale, spinach, kiwi, bananas, hemp seed and spirulina, and Vega protein powder.

20130902-004857.jpg

Here in Texas the temperatures were in the triple digits, to help cool down I made some tasty Zip ice-pops, using Zipzicle bags. These bags are wonderful, because I control the ingredients, no worrying about dyes or sugar.

Zip Bags

Turn your healthy smoothies into ice-pops, using fresh fruits and veggies, yes, I said veggies.  This is a great way to get in those extra fruits and veggies. You can load them with powerful disease fighting foods, turning an empty calorie treat into a good-for-you treat.

Pops

                                Click for Ice-Pop recipe

Something else pretty good this weekend was a grilled zucchini and avocado quesadilla.

Zucchini

Open Quesadilla

Zucchini  and Avocado Quesadilla

Sunday, I had a fun time with my family. Whenever there’s a Monday holiday, we get together on Sunday to celebrate, so everyone can use Monday to relax and prepare for the week ahead.

I had fun with my daughter, my niece and nephew.

Fun with family

It was good seeing my brother, Alphanzo and his wife, Schulanda again.

Al and Schulanda

I hope everyone is having a Wonderful Labor Day Monday !

This post was shared on The Naptime Review, All She CooksGloriously Made, My Fashion Forward Blog, and This Motherhood Is Brought To You By Xanax, for Mom’s Monday Mingle, check them out.

Author: Celeste @The Whole Serving

Hi, I'm Celeste 'm a no flesh eating vegetarian who loves to run, cook and eat good wholesome food, living a healthy lifestyle has always been important to me. In 2011 I became a vegetarian because I was experiencing digestive problems it seemed after every meal and I just didn't feel good. After reading Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr I was convinced that eliminating all meat from my diet and adding more real foods was worth a try. Kris's book taught me so much about the power of whole fresh fruits and veggies, and their impact on our bodies. After a few months I started to feel the difference and I have never turned back. My hope is to share something that helps you on your journey to being Whole Body Healthy! Follow me on Facebook,Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

