Healthful Mind Body and Soul

Be Whole Body Healthly!

Running With Asthma

Leave a comment

MiMM

 

It was an absolutely beautiful Spring weekend!

I love the Spring ,but I don’t love the pollen and allergens it brings, it’s been killer on my allergy and asthma. The forecast was  for heavy rain this weekend, but we only got a small shower. I was hoping for the rain to wash away the pollen.

I have had asthma all my life and I’ve never let it hold me back, so I’m not going to start now.  Here is how I’ve been dealing with a tough allergy season.

1. Check pollen counts daily, if it’s too high, run inside.

20140427-191346.jpg

 

2. Always, always do a breathing treatment 15 minutes before a run or at least take two puffs 15 minutes before my run.

20140427-192025.jpg

 

3. Never go on a run without it. My trusty inhaler and take my allergy meds daily.

20140427-192037.jpg
4. Stay hydrated. I generally drink water at room temperature, which happens to be the a good thing. It’s recommend that asthmatics drink lukewarm or hot water, it helps to loosen the phlegm and thin bronchial secretions. Before a run I sip on warm or hot water.

Lemon Water
5. Run with a partner, if possible.

6. Run with my phone so I can make an emergency call if needed.

20140427-213230.jpg
7. Always wear my ID pack on my shoe, I photocopied my drivers license and laminated it, because there have been a few times when I forgot to remove it after a run and didn’t have my license when driving. I’ve also included a list of emergency contacts, although lately I’ve been giving some thought to purchasing a medical alert bracelet.

20140427-192302.jpg
8. Always let someone know which route I’m running. If no one is home, I simply text them the info when I head out, letting them know how long I should be out.

9. I’ve changed my running technique to run/walk interval training. The walk interval allows my lungs to recover so I can push more in my run interval. At first I was concerned about my time and pace, but doing the intervals have improved my pace, and this technique actually can burn more calories. I wrote a post on interval training a while back, check it out.

10. Most importantly, I’ve changed my breathing technique. I try to breathe from deep in the diaphragm, this is a technique I learned years ago in college when I was taking voice lessons. I inhale through the nose and exhale through pursed lips. I really have to focus on this one, for some reason I tend to breathe with my mouth open when running, it dries my throat and not to mention I take in more allergens. Keeping my mouth closed while running has done wonders, I can run longer and I feel much better.

11. Stop comparing myself to other runners, this has been a hard one, because I am a little competitive. I’m learning it’s ok to  sometimes run for distance, not pace.

Most importantly, I run for myself!

Always remember to seek your Doctor’s advice before starting a new exercise program or if you start to experience unusual pain or discomfort .

If you are an asthmatic runner, please leave a comment with some of the things you do to get through your runs, I’d love to know, because I’m always open to suggestions.

Check out Katie at Healthy Diva Life for more Marvelous Monday Fun!

Don’t forget to Be Marvelous In Your Monday and Happy Running!

 

Author: Celeste @The Whole Serving

Hi, I'm Celeste 'm a no flesh eating vegetarian who loves to run, cook and eat good wholesome food, living a healthy lifestyle has always been important to me. In 2011 I became a vegetarian because I was experiencing digestive problems it seemed after every meal and I just didn't feel good. After reading Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr I was convinced that eliminating all meat from my diet and adding more real foods was worth a try. Kris's book taught me so much about the power of whole fresh fruits and veggies, and their impact on our bodies. After a few months I started to feel the difference and I have never turned back. My hope is to share something that helps you on your journey to being Whole Body Healthy! Follow me on Facebook,Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

